Wednesday, August 15, 2007

YD wins Cape Cod League Championship Again

The Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox repeated as Cape Cod League Champions in the 2007 season by knocking off the Falmouth Commodores 2-0 to take the Championship in only two games. Both teams received great pitching on Tuesday night as Yarmouth-Dennis starter Trevor Holder (UGA) gave up one hit and struck out ten batters as he picked up the MVP award for the Championship series. The winning run scored on a suicide squeeze by Nick Romero which brought home Buster Posey (FSU) with the first run of the game. The YD Red Sox would bring home another run on a passed ball to set up the final scoreline. Nick Cassavechia (Baylor) worked the ninth inning by working around a double and striking out two batters. CodBall has a recap available here and Right Field Fog also has one available here.

Thanks to Codball for providing the picture.

No comments: