Wednesday, May 23, 2007

2007 Big 12 Baseball Postseason Awards Announced!

Kyle Russell (Texas) has been named Big 12 Player of the Year, while the Pitcher of the Year accolade went to teammate, Adrian Alaniz (Texas), highlighting the 2007 All-Big 12 Baseball Postseason Awards. Trevor Coleman (Missouri) earned Freshman of the Year, and teammates David Newman and Brandon Hicks (Texas A&M) share the honor for Newcomer of the year. Tim Jamieson (Missouri) and Augie Garrido (Texas) were named Co-Coach of the Year.

The All-Big 12 honors are selected by the league's head coaches. No. 5 Texas placed a conference-leading seven players on the all-conference squads, while No. 18 Oklahoma State placed six -- UT has five on the first team and two on the second team while Oklahoma State has three on the first and three on the second.

Russell becomes the second Longhorn to earn the Player of the Year award. The Tomball, Texas native leads the nation and Big 12 in home runs this year with 27 entering the Big 12 Championship. His 33 RBI places him first in conference play and he is hitting .358. Russell is tied for third in conference play with runs scored (26), has 69 hits and 19 runs scored during the `07 league season. The sophomore was selected as one of 16 semifinalists for the Dick Howser Trophy Award by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.

Alaniz holds a 2.75 ERA in Big 12 games and is a two-time honoree of Big 12 Pitcher of the Week this season. He has thrown 49 strikeouts during conference play and has pitched three complete games this season. The junior was selected as one of 10 semifinalists for the Roger Clemens Award, honoring the top pitcher in college baseball by the Greater Houston Baseball Association.

Coleman has tallied eight home runs this year, 39 RBI and has started 41 our of 42 games for the Tigers. Current teammates and juniors, David Newmann and Brandon Hicks (Texas A&M) joined the Aggies from San Jacinto JC. Newmann holds a 3.75 ERA and has recorded 45 strikeouts during conference play this season. Hicks is hitting .344 with 83 hits and 54 RBI as he enters tournament play.

This marks Jamieson's first Coach of the Year honor and Garrido's third (2002, 04,06). Jamieson led the Tigers to a 39- 14 season finish and a 19-8 conference finish. Garrido's Longhorns ended their season 42-14 and 21-6 to claim Big 12 regular season title. This marks the second consecutive year UT has won the regular season title under Garrido.


Name, SchoolPos.Cl.Hometown/Previous School
Chance Wheeless, Texas1BJr.Round Rock, Texas/Round Rock
Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State2BSr.Kent, Wash./Edmonds CC
Beamer Weems, BaylorSSSo.Virginia Beach, Va./Princess Anne
Bradley Suttle, Texas3BSo.Boerne, Texas/Boerne
Preston Clark, TexasCSo.Rockwall, Texas/Rockwall
Corey Brown, Oklahoma StateOFJr.Tampa, Fla./H.B. Plant
Ty Wright, Oklahoma StateOFSr.Tyler, Texas/Willis Point
Kyle Russell, TexasOFSo.Tomball, Texas/Tomball
Jacob Priday, MissouriDHJr.Sikeston, Mo./Sikeston
Luke Anders, Texas A&MDHSo.College Station, Texas/A&M Consolidated
Blake Stouffer, Texas A&MUTLJr.San Antonio, Texas/Alamo Heights
Aaron Crow, MissouriRHPSo.Wakarusa, Kan./Washburn Rural
Adrian Alaniz, TexasRHPJr.Sinton, Texas/Sinton
Kyle Nicholson, Texas A&MRHPSr.College Station, Texas/A&M Consolidated
Daniel Edwards, Kansas StateRPJr.Kingwood, Texas/Kingwood


No comments: